Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, with an area of 9,251 square kilometres. It is located in the Eastern Mediterranean at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa.

Administrative districts

Cyprus is divided into six administrative districts: Nicosia, Limassol, Larnaca, Paphos, Famagusta, and Kyrenia.


As of 1 January 2017, the population of Cyprus was estimated to be 1 184 800 people. Approximately 72% Greek Cypriots, 17.6% foreign residents, 9.6% Turkish Cypriots.


Cyprus is a presidential republic. The head of state and of the government is elected by a process of universal suffrage for a five-year term. Executive power is exercised by the government with legislative power vested in the House of Representatives. On May 01, 2004 the Republic of Cyprus became a full member of the EU completing a long journey that lasted more than three decades. Accession to the EU was a natural choice for Cyprus, dictated by its culture, civilization, history, its European outlook and adherence to the ideals of democracy, freedom and justice. EU accession has launched a new era of challenges, opportunities and responsibilities for Cyprus.

Official Language

The official languages are Greek and Turkish, but English is widely spoken. English is the lingua franca of business.


Cyprus has one of the warmest climates in the Mediterranean part of the European Union. The average annual temperature on the coast is around 24 °C during the day and 14 °C at night. The middle of summer is hot – in July and August on the coast the average temperature is usually around 33 °C, during the day and around 22 °C at night. In the period January – February average temperature is 17–18 °C during the day and 7–8 °C at night.